General Information

Izmir University of Economics, which is the first foundation university in Izmir and in Aegean region, was established in 2001 by “Izmir Chamber of Commerce Education and Health Foundation” in accordance with the provisions of Turkish Republic Constitution, Law No: 2547, Higher Education Law and Regulations about Foundation Higher Education Institutions.  Izmir University of Economics aims to nurture individuals who are creative and entrepreneurial, dedicated and wholly committed to Ataturk’s principles and reforms.

The University currently has 8 Faculties, 2 Schools, 3 Vocational Schools, 4 Graduate Schools, and 10 Research and Application Centers.

These academic units offer 32 different associate degree programs, 35 different undergraduate programs, 38 different graduate programs, and 9 different PhD programs.

Department of "Fashion and Textile Design" accepts students through pre-registration/apptitude test and associate degree programs accept students through student selection and placement center (placed by OSYM).

Izmir University of Economics has ERASMUS+ agreements with 168 universities in 26 countries and academic cooperation protocol with 41 universities abroad as of March, 2019.